PICK UP YOUR PENS AND DRAW…NOW!!

As some of you may be aware or maybe have seen me in class doodling. . . what I have actually been doing is making notes, not your typical notes but visual notes. I explained in my week nineteen learning log what brought me to make visual notes however here is a reminder although you can find the original in week nineteen’s learning log.

” I was introduced to different ways of note taking which I found extremely helpful. I tried out each one in my own time until I found one which I thought suited me best. Sometimes I swap between methods depending on what we have been talking about and how much paper I have. More recently I have been trying out visual note taking, similar to narrated art. From my understanding, it’s where you draw what you see or what you are learning about. I tend to draw what pops into my head or how I would visualise a topic that we are discussing, this personally helps me to remember it better. I also end to note down my thoughts and feelings, my own ideas and opinions or any questions that have popped up that I may decide to research further into later. I add colour to help with the memory retention plus its genuinely fun to colour it in. I have had a lot of fun with visual note taking and at the moment, it is my preferred style of note taking, I found it’s another way to keep me  attentive and motivated during the lectures.”

Each week, with every module I’m taking I have been using my visual note making method and I feel each week I have got better at them, at drawing, my ideas seem to flow more fluently and I feel more confident with what I want to draw and how I picture my notes at the end of the lesson. People naturally assume that you need to be able to draw in order to make visual notes but you don’t!! I plan to make another post explaining how to make your very own visual notes if anyone is interested in having  ago at making their own so stay posted!! To round of this post I thought I’d attach a couple of new additions that I have drawn recently, I hope you like them.

Now as you can tell the last pictures I’ve posted are partially blank. They are from today’s lesson and at the moment are still unfinished however I wanted to give you a sneak peak into what I’ve been working on. When those notes are finished I will post up the finished result!! Look out for my next blog post on how to make visual notes.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

