Learning Log – Week Fourteen: The Zig Zag Method

So this week we were looking a little more in-depth into our research project. The lesson started off with Tom and Sandra giving us each a piece of paper to read, It was a previous students work and it was about their research method. They had written about what they had chosen, which was a writing method known as Zig Zag and explained why they had chosen it, a little background knowledge into it and why they liked it.

After reading about this method we decided to put it into practice, so beginning with one of the students we would go around the entire room, randomly pointing at people to speak next until everyone in the room had spoken. Once everyone in the room had a turn speaking, each person writes a response to what was said to them. There is no right or wrong answer, they can write any response as long as it is their own.

To start off our Zig Zag process, the question we were answering was “I think that the qualities of a successful educationalist areโ€ฆ?” And that’s where we would fill in the gaps. There were many ideas and opinions of what makes a successful educationalist and they were all wonderfully different. Some of the them were,

– Organised
– Enthusiastic
– Being confident
– Being creative
– Passionate about your job and about the subject
– Devoted
– Being able to express your thoughts and opinions freely.
– Approachable
– Courage
– Open minded
– Trying new methods
– It’s not only about what you can teach them but what they can teach you.
– Encouraging
– Being able to communicate effectively, not only with your students but with their parents, colleagues etc

I enjoyed this task however I found it to be quite time-consuming just as our class is massive and everybody took part in this activity. I liked the back and forth and people being chosen randomly, it was quite spontaneous and put people on the spot. It was interesting to watch how people reacted and the answers that they would give. I feel this activity would be best in smaller groups of people as it would be easy to keep track of who has said what and who you’re supposed to respond to. As the group was so large it was easy to lose track of who has said what. Even though the method was interesting, it’s not something that I would choose to do my research project on just because the subject didn’t particularly interest me. I’ve now decided what I want to do my own research project on so at the moment I’m in the process of researching into it further, and starting to plan it out. I’m not going to tell you what one I’ve chosen!! You will have to wait and see. I hope you like it and thanks for reading!! ๐Ÿ˜„

3 thoughts on “Learning Log – Week Fourteen: The Zig Zag Method

  1. danceswithcloud says:

    Hi Chloe. Nice post on the zig zag – and YES a difficult method to use in a large group. Did you actually get to write anything? I know that is unlikely cos we ran out of time. But the idea would be that whatever any of us wrote whilst still being from us – could have been influenced by all those different voices – and thus could have been more authentic: always a good thing in a research method. Think about zig zag again in the light of yesterday’s article on how difficult it is to collect authentic student voices. Do you think that the zig zag would help overcome the problems that that author highlighted?

    Like

    • noblechloe says:

      I sadly was unable to write a response to what was said to me just as I found it extremely difficult to keep track of who had said what. On that note I didn’t write anything down in response to what anyone else has said either (which sounds rubbish I know). I think Zig Zag could help students voices to be authentic just as the method is completely on the spot and people are chosen at random however it doesn’t mean to say students were 100% authentic. I found some of my peers agreed with others (which I didn’t see as being authentic just because it wasn’t their own idea) if they had more to contribute to that persons idea then I could see how that could have been authentic.. I knew people would eventually run out of things to say as our group was massive and peoples ideas became similar towards the end however the way they explained themselves were different to everyone else entirely. There are pros and cons to this method in terms of authenticity just as there are many things to take into consideration when trying to get a authentic answer, such as the environment, people around them, body language and what the subject is on. I think if we gave the students a subject that would rile them up, we would find a lot more authentic voices just as it would be something they are passionate about. I’ve seen it in classes that I’ve had where there have been debates, people answering questions with what they truly think and not what they feel they should say because it seems appropriate. That was just how I felt anyway . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

